Bo Johnson Spirit Award

Congratulations to Chip Anderson, our 2022 winner!

On behalf of NAFA’s Board of Directors, we are proud to announce that Chip Anderson has been named the 2022 Bo Johnson Spirit Award winner. Anderson retired from the industry in 2018 after spending more than four decades in roles including executive director of NAFA, senior vice president of annuity sales for CreativeOne and sales management roles for other IMOs and carriers. Throughout his career, he championed fixed annuity products and professionals; educated, trained and mentored hundreds of industry professionals; and actively served on NAFA’s committees and board of directors prior to taking the helm as executive director to cap off his illustrious career.

Please enjoy this special video tribute and share it with others to celebrate his accomplishments.

The Bo Johnson Spirit Award is an exceptional honor that recognizes individuals for the positive and lasting imprint they make on the fixed annuity industry. Each year, we look to the industry to nominate current or former NAFA members deserving of this coveted award who embody Bo’s generous spirit and lives by the following ideals:

  • Serves as an inspiration to others
  • Contributes to other professionals and their communities
  • Is ethical and conscientious
  • Dedicates himself or herself to improving the marketplace
  • Devotes time to the advancement of fixed annuity products

The Executive Operating Committee then brings before the board a recommended individual to be the recipient. After a board vote, the winner is announced and honored at the NAFA Annuity Distribution Summit each October.

About Bo Johnson

Bo Johnson

Bo Johnson was well known for his energy, enthusiasm and love of the fixed annuity industry. He was a proud member of NAFA and served as a board member for several years, as well as the original chair of the Insurance Marketing Advisory Committee (IMAC). His life was cut much too short when he died in 2009 after a courageous fight with cancer.

Distinguished Recipients

  • Chip Anderson (2022)

  • Dennis Brown (2021)

  • Malott Nyhart (2020)
  • Brian Williams (2019)

  • Mike Tripses (2018)

  • David Noble (2017)

  • Jack Marrion (2016)

  • Eric Thomes (2015)

  • Samuel R. Lane (2014)

  • Bill Cain (2013)

  • Wendy Waugaman (2012)