WASHINGTON (Dec. 8, 2016) — The general membership of NAFA, the National Association for Fixed Annuities, approved recommendations for its newly elected 2017 board of directors at the association’s annual meeting held recently in Phoenix, Ariz. Nominations were received from the membership at large, and candidates were thoroughly vetted by the current board before being announced. With all present at the meeting in favor of the new appointments, five members will actively begin filling their roles effective Jan. 1, 2017.

Newly appointed board members include: Margo Thompson of The Annuity Source, Inc., Lauri Beck of Insurance Network America, Heather Kane of EquiTrust Life Insurance Co., Jeff Maxey of InsurMark and Mike Morrone of Nationwide.

Brian Mann of Partners Elite Advisory Group will assume the role of chairman of the board of directors, taking over for exiting chair Nathan Zuidema of Imeriti Financial Network. Dominic Cursio of M3 Financial, Inc will roll up to vice chair and Jim Maietta of Allianz to secretary, while Chris Conroy of CreativeOne will join the executive operating committee as its newly appointed treasurer.