6 Appointees Join New Wave of NAFA Leadership

WASHINGTON (Jan. 16, 2019) — The general membership of NAFA, the National Association for Fixed Annuities, unanimously approved the slate of candidates presented for the 2019 board of directors at the association’s annual meeting held recently in Nashville, Tenn. Nominations were received from the membership at large, and candidates were vetted by the current board before being proposed during the association’s tenth annual Annuity Distribution Summit. With all present at the meeting voting in favor of the appointments, six new members and one member re-elect will join forces with current leadership to help onboard NAFA’s new president and CEO, Chuck DiVencenzo, and oversee efforts to implement the organization’s long-term vision.

Kevin Mechtley of North American Company for Life and Health Insurance will begin a second term on the board and will be joined by the following five new members: Jodi Hyde of Fidelity & Guaranty Life, Tim Minard of Great American Insurance Group, Andrew Payne of CreativeOne, Craig Rudesill of Nationwide, David Schliesman of Allianz Life and David Wolfe of Advisors Excel.

Jim Maietta of TruChoice Financial Group will assume the role of chairman of the board of directors, taking over for immediate past chair Dominic Cursio of Simplicity Financial Marketing. Chris Conroy of North American Company for Life and Health Insurance will roll up to vice chair and Lauri Beck of Insurance Network America to secretary, while Heather Kane of EquiTrust Life Insurance Co. was elected to join the executive operating committee as its newly appointed treasurer.

“Though the industry experienced a major victory in 2018 at the defeat of the Department of Labor’s fiduciary rule, significant advocacy and education efforts are needed to protect the future of fixed annuity products and promote these vehicles as a way to enhance the future of American retirement,” said Dominic Cursio, immediate past chairman of the board. “Our incoming leaders provide experience, enthusiasm and a commitment to join the talented professionals currently serving on our board of directors as we guide NAFA into a new era. Ultimately, their work will ensure the organization continues to grow and thrive for many years to come, and that our Premier, Supporting and Affiliate Partners experience maximum value from their membership.”

NAFA membership subsequently approved the entire board roster, which includes the following current members: Jason Kestler of LTAIS, Adam Lunardini of Delaware Life Insurance Company, Jeff Maxey of InsurMark, Mike Morrone of Nationwide, Brad Newcomb of Global Atlantic, Janet Sipes of AmeriLife, Eric Taylor of AIG and Margo Thompson of The Annuity Source, Inc.

Of behalf of its members, Cursio then recognized the contributions of exiting board members Tony Compton of Great American Insurance Group, Eric Marhoun of Fidelity & Guaranty Life and Paul McGillivray of M&O Marketing with commemorative plaques and pens.