COVID-19 Response Gallery

For the past 11 years, we enjoyed the longest-running bull market in U.S. history. We’ve also seen unprecedented growth in the fixed annuity marketplace, as education and awareness efforts continue to help consumers understand the value of these unique products in planning for a comfortable retirement.

As the coronavirus pandemic broke out, market and economic volatility grew, and individuals all over the world saw life as we knew it change. Though things are uncertain, NAFA is here to help you stay up to speed on current events, and make tips and resources available for helping you protect your business, your employees and your clients through these turbulent times.

Resources

Webinars

The Anatomy of a Fixed Indexed Annuity

Thursday, June 6, 2024
11:00am PT | 12:00pm MT | 1:00pm CT | 2:00pm ET

presented by The Index Standard

Telling the RILA Story

Wednesday, June 12, 2024
11:00am PT | 12:00pm MT | 1:00pm CT | 2:00pm ET

presented by Brighthouse Financial

An Inside Look at DOL’s New Fiduciary – Only Regime

Recording Now Available on Demand!

Despite industry’s best efforts to protect independent distribution and preserve the existing robust regulatory environment, producers will now be subject to fiduciary requirements when rolling funds out of ERISA plans into annuities. But what exactly does this mean? What aspects of business will change and what will remain? And how will this new landscape of retirement advice impact clients?

Get a glimpse into the future as legal experts dissect this complex and confounding rule!

NAFA’s outside legal counsel, Groom Law Group, is back to make sense of it all and answer your most pressing questions in the fourth edition of our DOL update series. Groom Law Group:

  • Provides an analysis of differences between the proposed and final versions of the rule
  • Examines the newly amended PTEs and circumstances in which they might come into play
  • Discusses specific implications for carriers, IMOs and independent agents
  • Reviews implementation timelines and transition periods
  • Shares thoughts on an advocacy strategy as NAFA continues to battle this reckless rule

The Newest Fiduciary Rule: An Expert Analysis

Recording Now Available on Demand!

NAFA’s general counsel and director of government affairs Pam Heinrich speaks with Andrew Payne, VP and general counsel at Creative One, and Tyler Brown, AVP of government affairs at North American, about the new “Retirement Security Rule” package and how it could impact your business.

  • The newest definition of fiduciary and when fiduciary status is triggered
  • Need-to-know amendments to PTE 84-24 and 2020-02 for independent producers seeking exemptive relief
  • Supervision expectations for financial institutions — and what that means for carriers and IMOs
  • Proposed changes to disclosures, agent compensation and more to comply with new requirements

NAFA’s next steps, and what members can do to support our efforts

The DOL Proposal’s Potential Impacts on the Fixed Annuity Community

Recording Now Available on Demand!

NAFA interviews experts from Groom Law for a conversation on:

  • What DOL is looking for in mitigating conflicts of interest and delivering advice in clients’ best interests
  • Why language would matter in the proposed new regulatory environment
  • The significant ramping up of processes and resources that, in the end, could ultimately land on consumers
  • The likelihood this proposal would increase distribution costs, as financial institutions and professionals will need to do more work and take more risk

What it all means for carriers, IMOs and independent agents